
The original Osaka Namba/Shinsaibashi report described a process beginning at the first store: collect a paper coupon card and take it to the other store. From September 1, 2026, foreign tourists could use a card from Bic Camera Namba for JPY 1,100 off kimono rental at wargo Osaka Shinsaibashi, or a card from wargo for 3%, 5%, or 7% off eligible tax-free purchases at Bic Camera Namba. No end date or card quantity was announced; an on-site physical card, not an online coupon, was required.
JAPAN NOW · OSAKA VISITOR BENEFIT
Kimono rental JPY 1,100 offTax-free shopping up to 7% off
The two shops announced reciprocal benefits for foreign tourists visiting Japan. The first collection point determined the next destination and discount, so the source emphasized planning the route first.
The Bic Camera card was for wargo; the wargo card was for Bic Camera. Each had to be taken physically to the other shop. The announcement did not establish online codes, screen substitutes, card reuse, or repeated alternating use.
From September 1, 2026, order determined the benefit
Collect the wargo card displayed in store, then visit wargo Osaka Shinsaibashi. Paying the kimono rental fee in the shop reduced the payment by JPY 1,100.
After kimono rental, obtain the Bic Camera card and take it to Bic Camera Namba. At tax-free checkout, 3%, 5%, or 7% applied according to eligible product category.
Excluded products and detailed use rules appeared on the physical card. Checking eligibility at the tax-free counter before selecting items could avoid confusion later.
Bic Camera Namba discount categories
Home appliances, toys, and similar items
These were representative categories in the release, not a blanket 7% on every product.
Household goods and similar items
Both consumable tax-free rules and coupon exclusions needed checking.
The coupon was usable only when processed as an eligible tax-free purchase.
Brand/product exclusions and details were referred to the on-site card, not fully disclosed in the announcement.
At Bic Camera Namba, the coupon was usable only at tax-free checkout , with category rates and excluded items. The announcement did not disclose the sequence or final formula for tax exemption and coupon discount, so the original advised confirming the final total at the counter.
Compare wargo’s JPY 1,100 reduction with online prepayment
On the official Korean wargo page checked September 4, the standard kimono plan showed JPY 3,300 online versus the ordinary listed JPY 4,400. Both the online saving and cross-coupon reduction were JPY 1,100 in that example, so the cross-coupon was not always cheaper than online booking. Plans and dates could change prices; compare the desired plan’s final online amount with the expected on-site total.
wargo accepted walk-ins but prioritized reservations. The release excluded web prepayment without explaining whether a reservation with on-site payment was possible. The source advised asking the shop and choosing a booking method after the answer.
Conditions for international travelers
A short tourist visit from abroad fitted the announced purpose. It was not announced as a general discount for Japanese citizens or residents.
Bic Camera’s benefit was for tax-free checkout. A foreign passport alone was insufficient; the applicable nonresident and entry-period conditions also had to be met.
For wargo’s JPY 1,100 reduction, the stated essentials were on-site payment and the physical card. The release did not separately require passport presentation there.
The official method was a coupon-bearing handout available at the two shops. Screenshots and article links were not established substitutes.
The original described the then-current tax-free scope as generally including eligible nonresidents within six months of entry, with a passport or a Visit Japan Web tax-free QR supported by that store. It advised confirming passport and eligibility before choosing purchases. These are dated legal-rule statements, not newly verified guidance.
For purchases through October 31, 2026, the source stated that general goods bought at the same store on the same day needed a combined pre-tax amount of at least JPY 5,000.
For consumables such as medicines, cosmetics, and food, the source described a same-store/same-day total and designated packaging that must not be opened or used in Japan.
The source required the official tax-free status and entry-period conditions; a passport nationality alone did not establish eligibility.
Visit Japan Web tax-free QR worked only at supporting stores; the source advised carrying the physical passport too.
For travel from November 1, the source described a changed tax-free process
. Under that described model, the customer paid consumption tax, obtained customs export confirmation on departure, and then received the tax-equivalent refund. The September 1 cross-promotion release did not announce an end to the coupon or explain Bic Camera’s 3%/5%/7% handling under the new procedure. Travelers after November were advised to ask the Namba store before buying.
- Purchases through October 31, 2026: Follow the then-applicable tax-free checkout and passport/QR conditions.
- Purchases from November 1, 2026: The source described tax-inclusive payment, departure within ninety days of purchase, and export-confirmation/refund procedures.
- Do not check the goods first: The source said goods must be available for departure customs inspection, so baggage should not be checked before that inspection.
- Check product discount and tax refund separately: A 3%/5%/7% item reduction and consumption-tax refund were separate benefits. Confirm the expected store total and airport procedure independently.
Locations and opening times
Shin-o Building, floor 3
Six minutes on foot from Namba and seven from Shinsaibashi. Hours 10:30–18:00, final dressing 17:30, same-day return deadline 18:00.
Beside Namba Walk exits B17, B19, and B21 for Namba/Nippombashi stations. Regular hours listed as 10:00–22:00.
One route
wargo was described as about four minutes on foot from Dotonbori. Both shops could fit one day, but the 18:00 kimono return came first.
It launched as an ongoing collaboration, not a permanently guaranteed entitlement. Card stock was not disclosed, so availability required an on-day check.
Language and card-payment conditions
The official Osaka Shinsaibashi Korean page listed plans, prices, booking, and returns.
wargo stated twelve website languages and multilingual store information/documents. This did not guarantee staff speaking a particular language throughout the day.
The release stated no overseas-card brand restriction or designated card-payment requirement. Actual accepted brands needed checking with each shop.
Payment timing mattered more than the brand. The original warned against completing web payment first if seeking the on-site benefit.
Before travel and on site
- Choose whether kimono rental or shopping comes first; obtain the card for the other shop at the first stop.
- Compare wargo’s online final price and on-site estimate; do not complete web prepayment when using this coupon.
- For Bic Camera, check passport, tax-free status, and minimum eligible purchases.
- Read the actual card for validity, exclusions, per-person uses, and other details absent from the release.
- Before selecting Bic Camera items, ask the tax-free counter about eligibility and the final total.
- Plan dressing, reservations, and the Dotonbori walk backward from wargo’s 18:00 return.
- For November 1 onward, recheck refund procedures and coupon operation before checking baggage or buying.
- Because no end or quantity was disclosed, ask both shops whether cards are available that day.
- Rashinban/wargo official release: September 1, 2026 start, foreign-tourist audience, reciprocal benefits, branches, and exceptions
- Company-distributed PR TIMES release: date and discount-rate cross-check
- wargo official collaboration page: on-site card route
- wargo Osaka Shinsaibashi official Korean page: prices, web payment, reservations, hours, and returns
- Bic Camera Namba official page: address, hours, floor categories, and tax-free service
- Japan Tourism Agency: foreign-visitor tax-free status and purchase conditions through October 31, 2026
- National Tax Agency: eligible export-store customers and procedures
- Japan Tourism Agency: refund-model tax-free system described from November 1, 2026
EDITOR'S NOTE · EVERYDAY TRIP
EVERYDAY TRIP Editorial Team’s advice
Kimono savings were fixed at JPY 1,100, while shopping savings scaled with eligible spending. For substantial 7%-category purchases, visiting wargo first could yield more savings, after checking exclusions and tax-free status.
In the source’s standard-plan example, the online/prepayment difference was also JPY 1,100. With no combination with other campaigns, compare the actual date’s web rate, desired upgrades, and on-site total to find the lower cost.
wargo’s return deadline was 18:00, while Bic Camera’s normal closing was 22:00. Dressing in the morning, walking Dotonbori/Shinsaibashi, returning before 18:00, and then shopping could reduce time pressure. If shopping first, allow at least thirty minutes before the kimono reservation.
The original described tax-inclusive payment from November 1 and a refund after departure confirmation. Airport arrival, customs, and baggage order could affect the itinerary. Even if cards remained displayed, coupon application under the changed tax-free process needed checking on the purchase date.